Practising positive affirmations

Reading Louise Hay’s book ‘The power is within you.’ and it starts of with positive affirmations. I am practising these now and wow, what a power! I can actually feel myself relax and become a nicer person. Wow.Β  Amazing. Well I did know I had a strong negative streak, but I did not know it worked in every second and in everything I do. I feel like I am unfolding. I am experiencing space and health and mind places where I have not been before.

And actually, funny, I knew the strength of positive affirmations and used it to make myself happy about quitting. I called it brainwashing :-). Affirmation as a nicer word. I can see why it took me a while to get there but it is here and unfolding. πŸ™‚ I like it. I am 4,5 months sober now, 140 days.

I am happy that I quit drinking! Yeah! There are so many things to discover about life, about the universe and doing so makes it all so rewarding.

What I want: to continue reading.

What I need: to settle my thoughts in order to actually do stuff. That is a need but I will continue reading because getting rid of negativity and my attachment to sadness has been an assignment since I did my ayahuasca ceremonies 4 years ago and I want to be free of it.

This post was edited, I used positive wordings. πŸ™‚ Yeah!

16 thoughts on “Practising positive affirmations

  1. Woo hoo! This is great to read, and also completely sympatico with what I’m going through today. I’ll write about it over at my blog. πŸ™‚ I love Louise Hay – you’re inspiring me to go search through unpacked boxes to dig out her book. I have You Can Heal Your Life as well…and I think it’s time for me to jump back on the affirmation bandwagon! It is a powerful thing, this subconscious. Thanks for the inspiration!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Pingback: 68 Days | The End of the Road

    • Thank you Fern. And thank you for dropping by. Being positive, pfffff, Fern, it is my life’s mission and today I feel I am not getting anywhere (how’s that for a negative?)

      Through your comment on your post today I realised that I will keep on lashing out towards people on things that I do not accept in myself but I feel that I do not have the right to forgive me.
      If my ego was any smaller it might have helped in keeping other people whole, but it is not. And I still can not depend on common courtisy and gentleness that I so admire in e.g. Anne from ainsobriety (and loads of others!) to reign me in. Well, I guess what I run into here is the same as I run into in real life. 😦
      Let me practise in being positive: I have been offered the ability to learn very important lessons today. πŸ™‚ Thank you Fern. I actually mean it, but I am scared shitless on how to approach.
      Rephrase: Today I have been offered an ability to learn a very important lesson that will bring the world and me peace and less hurt when learned. Currently I can not say how I will approach this but I…, pffff. nope, positivitiy not working. Scared here. 😦

      Liked by 1 person

      • You and i are in the same boat, mu friend. Our negative thinking and fears are powerful but we can learn we are not those thoughts or fears. Remove all that and underneath is the genuine self. Pure love — not touched by the patterns we have learned and the negative voices we hear.

        You are everything you need to be right now. Perfect. You don’t need to do anything. Just BE.

        Stay in touch with your true inner beauty. It’s always there.

        I love you, my new friend in sobriety.

        Xoxo Fern

        Exvuse typos. Phone isnt autocorrecting. Ugh!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you for keeping things real. Acknowledging how we feel and learning from it is huge. I’m a better person for having met you. πŸ™‚ Thanks, Feeling.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you!
    You gave me the incentive to use positive affirmations again!
    I think I’ll say one affirmation and repeat it as I go through the day, so it becomes something I an hook onto when my negatives come up.
    I am 131 days, 18.5 weeks sober today, so I am right behind you!
    Peace and Hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Congratulations on your day 131 πŸ™‚ Isn’t it great! πŸ™‚

      Somebody in a bookshop just informed me that my ‘Chinese number’ is 38 and my ‘thing in life is’ is Duality and my ‘solution’ is Obstacle. First thing I thought: no wonder I am having issues :-D.

      He had all kind of positive things to say about it but my mind was realing already :-). So….. back to practising positivity. πŸ™‚

      Like

    • Yes! I have the feeling I will not be going back to drinking. But this is an addiction so…. don’t know how it works in the future. And back again: I am not in the future. I am here and now and that’s where I don’t drink.

      Thank you for walking the road before me and helping me. πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

