Still reading

Today I’ve spent reading and checking out running techniques on YouTube. Loooooove YouTube. So much info ready at hand. Fan of my laptop clogged up with dust? YouTube tells me how to unscrew everything and fix it. Want to know how to cook something? YouTube. Want to know about nutrients? YouTube. And you can also find loads of video’s there stating that drinking alcohol is not at all bad. 😦

I am still with the book Addictive Thinking. After my first clash with the book I continued when I thought my mind was open again. And I am almost finished but up to now I find it a little disappointing. It is more of a list of aspects of addictive thinking, a useful list, yes, but I was hoping for more Aha Erlebnis / Aha effect. And of course I am hoping for extra special effects because I want things to be fantastic and normal is not good enough – which is of course listed as being an aspect of addictive thinking. πŸ™‚

What I appreciate, and what makes me breathe a little easier (did I say I had this open mind?) is where he says: people who practise addictive thinking do not know that they do and it is of no use to pressure them into admitting things. That will only make them strengthen their walls. I agree with that from my own experience. I think GP1 saved me by saying: ‘Whatever you want and when you want it.’ That gave me theΒ  possibility to drop my walls at that moment.

My plan for the on-coming week is to follow The Plan in detail, to be exact and concise about it. No lingering, no ‘I’ll do that tonight.’ Order memory repair nutrients and thyroid and bile nutrients. And that’s it. I am trying to stop thinking that repair needs to come from the outside – very addicty conviction. Nutrients are good, but how can I insist on these if all my blood tests come out ok? I am trying to let go, but it is difficult because I also thought I have saved my health all these years by taking supplements. I don’t know. I’m not going to risk my sobriety over a few vitamin B-complex and Omega 3 pills but maybe I don’t need the full 2000 Euro deal ;-). Don’t have the money for that anyhow.

I also want to get back to loosing weight because due to the 4 meals a day to get my blood sugar level stable I have gained a kilo. Halfway through the week I’ll be going on a little trip with a friend, biking and walking in the homeland. Actually fearing a lack of private time. Should manage that.

All in all a boringly normal Sunday. πŸ™‚ Happy that I quit. Through the blogosphere I was made aware of this article that says it all on being happy that I quit. She says; don’t give up drinking. And I agree. Be happy that you quit! I am happy that I quit. Slowly becoming aware that there still is a shitload of work to be done. But not now. Now it is autumn salad time: raw beet, carrot, apple, orange, celery, loads of parsley, chopped walnuts and grated fresh ginger. πŸ™‚

9 thoughts on “Still reading

      • Ha! It’s going well, actually. We got all of the big, heavy stuff into the new place, and we won’t need to rent a huge truck again. The challenge for us is that parenting doesn’t stop even though we’re moving! So in the midst of all of this chaos, we’re trying to keep things as stable as possible for the kids. We have the rest of October to get everything else over to the new place, clean up the old place and start some of the work at the new place. So things can move at a more doable pace now! Thanks for sharing all of the books you’re reading….I’m going to come back to these titles when my schedule gets back to something a little more normal. ❀

        Like

  1. have you ever read or heard about “the blood sugar solution” by dr mark hyman? I found it very informative and if followed closely, came off quickly and easily. I had a lot more success with it now that I’m sober bc in the past, I always struggled and cheated with the “no alcohol” part of the plan. it might be worth checking into if you’re open minded πŸ˜‰ stay well!

    Like

    • Thank you for your reply. πŸ™‚ I have not read Dr. Hyman but ‘The sugar blues’ in 1993 or so. I think I am fine with the cold turkey method I do with everything, but it the sugar cravings are the worst out of all the addictions I had. Possibly because the body does need sugar, but not in the versions we eat it. Does dr Hyman have a solution to not gaining weight while eating more often (and more…)? I am still hoping that next week, when I settle down with a nutritionist, it will work itself out.
      Hmmm, hear, hear…. where have I heard that one before. Ok! No lying to myself (or anybody!). ‘I got to shape up…’ πŸ™‚

      Like

      • He focuses on curbing the sugar cravings by eating lots of healthy fats, vegetables, and lean meats (I’m vegetarian so that’s where we part ways! ;))No dairy, sugars, flour, processed food, etc. The plan does allow for lots of food and more calories than I’d normally allow myself (I like to keep under 1100). It’s worth checking out… I make two of his smoothies and soup recipes even when I’m not on the plan. I can sometimes go crazy with sugar… binge on entire bags of gummy bears or jelly beans… when I follow his plan, I don’t crave sugar at all and even when I have some, it’s often way too sweet. Even after just a couple days. The book i have is “the Blood sugar solution: 10 day detox diet”… if you’d like, I can send you a link to a blogger who did the plan and wrote about it daily. I found that super helpful!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah! I’ld like that link.

        But Petunia? Under 1100 calories?!!! I would not even be able to get out of bed with so little… Weight Watchers says that your body gets into war mode with so little and starts storing everything. And that one in that case looses more weight when you would eat more in stead of less.

        I think I should be (part time) vegetarian but right now I just can’t. I can not do ‘no sugar’, ‘no alcohol’ and ‘no meat’ in one go.

        Like

      • http://www.fullplatecookinglessons.blogspot.com/2014/01/the-hideous-photo-that-was-my-wake-up.html?m=1

        this is a link to the full plate blog. she did the detox and reviewed the book. found it to be a good summary of what results to expect as well as a basic outline of the plan. worth checking out πŸ˜‰

        and yeah… 1100 calories prob doesn’t sound like much. but I find that when I go closer to 1500-2000+ I start packing on pounds and looking bloated. blahhh. but, that said, I’m a bit crazy and prob could start a blog on my battle w eating disorders and body dismorphia. haha… another day!!

        Like

Leave a Reply

