Get sober, stay sober – Cynthia Perkins

“Most truths are so naked that people feel sorry for them and cover them up, at least a little bit. ” ~ Edward R. Murrow

To me that quote strongly relates to family happenings and pain and keeping up appearances. There is no such thing as covering up truth to be found in the book I ‘Get sober, stay sober’, by Cynthia Perkins. It is raw and it gives little solace apart from the fact that someone has gone before us. It can be done. In that it is a story of hope. The only thing is that it is not made all pink and does not smell of rozes.

The book explains how addiction works physically and how sugar, nicotine, caffeine are imitators of alcohol in the way they work in the body. She continues with explaining how Candica (yeast) can take over the processes of your body and stimulate cravings. In other chapters she explains how child abuse deforms the brains and lays a direct physical route to addiction. The relation between hypoglycemia, pesticides, hypothyroidism, food allergies and addiction are worked out. All of this is in laymen’s terms.

Other chapters concern her personal life that is a story of severe child abuse and addiction and how she got out. When the text gave me the option to skip these I actually did as I find that I have enough stuff to deal with on my own – but I can imagine that I return to those chapters in a few months or, who knows, years in order to do her justice by hearing her story.

As she is now a sobriety coach she has discovered that the subjects of relation, sex, forgiving and spirituality often need attention on the road to healing. Chapters on these subjects included a mix of personal experience and work experience.

Do read this book, well, because I think it is comprehensive book and it saves you hours on the net or in the library trying to find out how stuff works. Specifically I think it is of interest to people who want to learn how the trauma’s of being abused and/or neglected form a firm (?), but not per se an unrepairable basis in the brain for addiction.

The tone of the book changes several times. The medical parts are more scientific and the parts where Perkins speaks of her own experiences are more personal. Some of the text of this book are written, I would say, in anger. Until I came to the quote on naked truth that starts of this blog I could not work out why I felt a little apprehensive in reading the angry parts. Having had that insight I now can read them with more ease and, not unimportant, with that I discovered that it is her pain. Not mine. I may have pain that is alike, but her pain is not mine.

The book does not contain recipes for ‘take this and get better’ like ‘Seven weeks to sobriety’ but she does finish with a chapter on ‘how to get sober and stay sober’.

As said some posts earlier; do not (or do?) read the book when AA is your only friend. In short: she does not appreciate the approach of AA because the experiences she had there and then remind her of her years of abuse.  Also she thinks putting the emphasis on a spiritual approach hinders recovery because it does not treat the actual cause of alcohol addiction which is a physical one.

I have included a piece of music that to me relates strongly to the book. Not so much in all of the text but, well, I don’t know. I just think it fits. It is from Alison Krauss and Robert Plant. The Rosetta the text refers to is Rosetta Tharp.

Strange things are happening everyday
I hear the music up above my head
Though the sight of my heart has left me again
I hear music up above

Secrets are written in the sky
Looks like I’ve lost the love I’ve never found
Though the sound of hope has left me again
I hear music up above

Standing in my broken heart all night long
Darkness held me like a friend when love was lost
Looking for the land that’s hidden in the cross
The finders love
I know I loved you too much
I’ll go alone to get through

I hear Rosetta singing in the night
Echos of lighting shine like stars after they’re gone
And tonight she’s my guide as a girl on the moon
With the music up above

One thought on “Get sober, stay sober – Cynthia Perkins

Leave a Reply

